Boeing Business Jets - BBJ

Boeing business jets – flying custom suits

Tim Takeoff
25.06.2019
18 pictures
3 minutes

Fly once in a private jet from A to B – for many an unattainable dream. The tip of the iceberg! Many would certainly think so here. But no matter what, there is always something more special, more exclusive and more expensive. Boeing serves one of the smallest segments of aviation, which is nevertheless extremely lucrative for manufacturers and suppliers: the Boeing Business Jets, in short: BBJ.

The magic three letters – BBJ

Among aviation enthusiasts, these three letters immediately trigger certain awe. These are private jets, but not quite “ordinary” ones. Far away from the widespread Citations, Gulfstreams, and Hawkers of this world, also the big manufacturers offer luxury in abundance to one of the world’s smallest clientele. Cruise ships of the skies are designed on the basis of Boeing’s most attractive models. Whether 737, 767, 777, 787, or even 747, everything is possible.

This cannot be done on a budget. Boeing Business Jets have been marketed to aircraft charterers, governments, companies and even private owners since 1996. A total of 260 jets have been delivered to date. Airbus also has its own business programme, the Airbus Corporate Jets, ACJ. The basic aircraft of this programme are also luxuriously equipped.

A flying palace

There is no surcharge list – everything is possible

An office, lounges, private areas, guest rooms, cinema, bar, various bedrooms and bathrooms with showers, even a dressing room can be realized. For each BBJ you will find some kind of master suite with a living room and all luxury imaginable. A normal galley would be far too simple, so most outfitters will install a full kitchen.

This can be of great importance for the customer, as the operating range of the BBJ is enormous. Even the smaller 737 BBJ already covers around 12,000 kilometres. “Widebody” aircraft such as the 777 or 747 can even cover a distance of 20,000 kilometres. This means you can travel halfway around the world non-stop. Just from New York to Singapore, or even to Australia? No problem! Necessary? Of course not. Exclusive? Absolutely!

777X as BBJ

Meanwhile, Boeing has even presented the 777X BBJ for the upcoming B777X at the Business Aviation Fair in Dubai last December 2018. Although the aircraft has not been in the air yet, the first cabin samples of the BBJ have already been published. The Belgian outfitter Jet Aviation demonstrates impressively what is possible. Based on the 777-9, the customer has 342 square metres, which he can design according to his own wishes. Both the smaller 777-8 and the larger -9 can be converted into the ultimate VIP jet.

The latest technology

The latest technologies should make next-generation travel as pleasant as possible. Even if only a handful of people in the world can realistically consider placing such an order, also the “normal traveller” will soon be able to enjoy some of these features. The newer generation à la B787 or 777X series, already have an improved pressure system, higher humidity and dimmable cabin windows. They are also larger and slightly higher to give the passenger a better view. Even if in comparison to a BBJ, a First Class of the renowned airlines is more like a motel.

However, one thing is certain: the feeling of seeing a “real” BBJ will continue to fill the viewer with certain awe in the future. And even free of charge. Impressive!

Pictures © Boeing

by Tim Takeoff

Related Posts

Boeing Business Jets - BBJ

Boeing Business Jets – fliegende Maßanzüge

Tim Takeoff
25.06.2019
18 Fotos
3 Minuten

Einmal in einem Privatjet von A nach B fliegen – für viele ein unerreichbarer Traum. Die Spitze des Eisberges! Das würden viele hier sicher denken. Doch es geht immer noch spezieller, exklusiver und kostspieliger. Boeing bedient hier eine der kleinsten Sparten der Luftfahrt, welche dennoch für Hersteller und Zulieferer äußerst lukrativ ist: Die Boeing Business Jets, kurz BBJ.

Die magischen drei Buchstaben – BBJ

Unter Luftfahrt-Enthusiasten lösen diese drei Buchstaben sofort eine Art Ehrfurcht aus. Es handelt sich um Privatjets, doch nicht um ganz „gewöhnliche“. Fernab der verbreiteten Citations, Gulfstreams, Learjets und Hawker dieser Welt, bieten auch die großen Hersteller einer der kleinsten Klientel der Welt Luxus im Überfluss an. Auf Basis Boeings attraktivster Modelle werden Kreuzfahrtschiffe der Lüfte entworfen. Egal ob 737, 767, 777, 787, oder sogar 747, alles ist möglich.

Nichts für eine schmale Geldbörse. Die Boeing Business Jets werden seit 1996 für Flugzeugcharterer, Regierungen, Firmen und teils sogar an private Eigner vermittelt. Insgesamt wurden bis heute etwa 260 Jets ausgeliefert. Auch Airbus verfügt über ein eigenes Business Programm, die Airbus Corporate Jets, ACJ. Hier werden die Basis Maschinen ebenfalls mit purem Luxus gefüttert.

Ein fliegender Palast

Eine Aufpreisliste gibt es nicht – Alles ist möglich

Ein Büro, Lounges, private Bereiche, Gästezimmer, Kino, Bar, verschiedene Schlafzimmer und Badezimmer mit Dusche, ja sogar ein Ankleidezimmer lassen sich realisieren. Zu jeder BBJ gibt es auch eine Art Mastersuite mit Wohnzimmer und allem erdenklichen Luxus. Eine normale Galley wäre viel zu einfach, deshalb verbauen die meisten Ausstatter eine vollwertige Küche.

Dies kann für den Kunden auch von großer Bedeutung sein, denn die Reichweiten der BBJ sind enorm. selbst die kleinere 737 BBJ schafft bereits circa 12.000 Kilometer. Flugzeuge auf Basis der „Widebodies“ wie 777 oder 747 liegen sogar bei 20.000 Kilometern. Damit lässt sich also die halbe Welt nonstop bereisen. Mal eben von New-York nach Singapur, oder sogar nach Australien? Kein Problem! Notwendig? Natürlich nicht. Exklusiv? Zu 100 Prozent!

777X als BBJ

Inzwischen hat Boeing sogar für die kommende B777X (wir berichteten) auf der Business-Luftfahrtmesse in Dubai im vergangenen Dezember 2018 die 777X BBJ vorgestellt. Obwohl das Flugzeug bisher noch nicht in der Luft war, sind bereits erste Kabinenmuster des BBJ veröffentlicht worden. Der belgische Ausstatter Jet Aviation zeigt deutlich, was möglich ist. Auf Basis der 777-9 verfügt der Kunde über 342 Quadratmeter, die er nach freien Wünschen gestalten kann. Sowohl die kleinere 777-8, als auch die größere -9 kann zum ultimativen VIP-Jet umgebaut werden.

Neueste Technik

Die neuesten Technologien sollen das Reisen in der nächsten Generation so angenehm wie möglich gestalten. Auch wenn nur eine handvoll Menschen dieser Welt an solch eine Bestellung denken kann, so wird auch der „Normal-Reisende“ bald in den Genuss einiger dieser Features kommen. Die neueren Generation à la B787 oder 777X, verfügen bereits „serienmäßig“ über ein verbessertes Drucksystem, höhere Luftfeuchtigkeit und dimmbare Kabinenfenster. Sie sind außerdem größer und etwas höher angebracht, um dem Passagier einen besseren Ausblick zu bieten. Auch wenn selbst eine First Class der renommierten Airlines im Vergleich mit einem BBJ eher einem Motel gleich kommt.

Eins ist allerdings Gewiss: Das Gefühl, wenn man einen „echten“ BBJ zu sehen bekommt, erfüllt den Zuschauer auch in Zukunft mit einer gewissen Ehrfurcht. Und das sogar kostenlos. Beeindruckend!

Alle Bilder ©Boeing

von Tim Takeoff

Related Posts