Reno Air Race

Reno Air Race: Fly low, fly fast, turn left

Arnold Fischer
01.02.2018
4 minutes

So you’ve already climbed Mount Everest a few times and you’re fed up waiting for scheduled flights to the moon? You’ve got a couple million dollars to spare, you’re a bit of a daredevil, and you’re looking for your next challenge? You’ll find it at the annual Reno Air Races in the Nevada desert. There, in addition to the astronauts, test pilots and former fighter pilots, you’ll find the crème de la crème, the aristocracy of the piston-powered propeller fighter aircraft of the last century.

The rules are simple: Fly at a speed of at least 300 mph (555 km/h), stay above the “R” of the vertical RENO signs on the pylons, keep within the narrow boundaries of the circuit, and overtake only on the outside.

The fighter planes, which mainly originate from the 1930s and ’40s, are fast and powerful, even in their original configurations. The tuners modifying these Hawker Sea Furies, Bearcats and Mustangs can coax up to 4,000 PS out of their V-12 Allison or Rolls-Royce engines, producing easily twice the standard performance. This allows the Unlimited Class pilots to fly around the pylons and close to the ground at speeds of up to 500 mph (804.672 km/h). They do this just metres from their competitors – and while experiencing g-forces beyond normally tolerable limits.

The “Unlimited racers” at the Reno Air Races

A standard-equipped “Unlimited racer” also includes various aerodynamic modifications, like flush rivets, a radically chopped cockpit, and a drastically shortened wingspan (which, in turn, results in considerably higher takeoff and approach speeds). In order to do justice to the exorbitant engine power, which requires a specialized air intake, the airframe and engine mounts must also be reinforced to withstand the extreme vibration and dramatic changes in temperature.

Of course, these modifications also go hand in hand with a general reduction in the planes’ handling qualities, meaning that “normal” pilots tend to classify Reno Unlimited racers as unflyable. Whereas pilots during the Second World War painted sharks’ teeth on their front fuselages to give their fighters a particular ferocious appearance, a fully grown tiger shark would probably flee immediately at the mere sight of a Reno Unlimited monster.

The sound produced by these Reno racers is no less diabolical. Comparing it to a mere earthquake would be a colossal understatement. It’s an infernal roar – and it’s instantly addictive for anyone with the smallest drop of jet fuel in their blood.

The history of the Reno Air Races

The sport began in the 1920s and ’30s, when the mostly unemployed pilots of the First World War were looking for something (more or less) productive to do with their time, a novel method of entertaining the public, and a way to earn some money. The Reno Air Races have preserved the historic charm of air racing ever since. Despite attracting around 200,000 spectators over four days, the event’s atmosphere remains convivial, with audience members enjoying up-close encounters with racers and conversing with crew members. The pits are a constant frenzy of activity, as the souped-up warbirds are extremely high maintenance.

Are you still wondering why you need a healthy dose of craziness to take part? The stresses on both pilot and plane are systematically maximized – right to their very limits. In other words, while flying one of these beasts would be some pilots’ wildest dream (and it’s certainly mine), it’s probably not such a good idea. In addition to the extreme aerodynamics, the souped-up technology is sensitive and not as stable as you might wish. (That sound, though…)

The worst-case scenario: engine failure

If, for example, an engine fails because the highly explosive specialised fuel has once again pulverised various piston rings, or a “fatal engine failure” has caused parts of the crankshaft to force their way out through the cowling… well, then, you need a Plan B.

This plan involves rapidly exchanging speed for altitude without colliding with any of your competitors, activating the fire extinguishing system – if there is one –, spending the duration of several adrenaline rushes to manually lower the landing gear using the crank handle (the hydraulics have probably failed), and of course praying that there’s no oil obscuring your front windshield. Then all you need to do is quickly find a nice spot in the desert in which to land your eighty-year-old, aerodynamically questionable, safety-feature-less, malfunctioning projectile.

Then, with a bit of luck and a good wind, you’ll be back in time for next year’s Reno Air Races, awaiting that announcement: “Open the pit lane for the Unlimited Class.”

More about different air races here on WingMag. How about our report about the Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2018 in Dubai? 

by Arnold Fischer

Related Posts

Reno Air Race

Reno Air Race: Fly Low, Fly Fast, Turn Left

Arnold Fischer
01.02.2018
4 Minuten

Du hast den Mount Everest schon mehrmals bestiegen und es dauert dir zu lange bis es Linienflüge zum Mond gibt? Du hast ein paar Millionen Dollar übrig, bist ziemlich mutig und suchst eine neue Herausforderung? Du findest diese auf auf dem alljährlichen Reno Air Race in der Wüste Nevadas. Dort trifft sich neben Astronauten, Testpiloten und ehemaligen Kampffliegern die Spitze, die Grande Classe der kolbengetriebenen Propeller-Jagdflugzeuge des vergangenen Jahrhunderts.

Die Regeln sind einfach: fliege mindestens 300 mph (555 km/h) schnell, fliege nicht unterhalb des „R“ vom vertikalen RENO-Schriftzug auf den Pylonen, bleibe innerhalb der engen Grenzen des Rundkurses und überhole grundsätzlich außen. Die zumeist aus den 1930er und 40er Jahren stammenden Jäger sind schon im Serienzustand schnell und leistungsstark. Die Tuner der Hawker Sea-Fury, Bearcat, Mustang & Co können den V-12-Allison oder Rolls-Royce-Triebwerken bis zu 4.000 PS entlocken, was schnell mal die doppelte Serienleistung bedeutet. Damit sind die Piloten der „Unlimited Class“ in der Lage, mit bis zu 500 mph (804,672 km/h) um die Pylonen in Bodennähe zu fliegen. Nur wenige Meter von den Konkurrenten entfernt, mit „G-Forces“ jenseits des normal erträglichen.

Die „unlimited Racer“ des Reno Air Race

Zu einem standesgemäßen „unlimited racer“ gehören außerdem diverse aerodynamische Modifikationen, wie die Glättung von Nieten, ein beherztes Choppen der Kabine und die radikale Kürzung der Spannweite, welche wiederum eine deutlich höhere Abhebe- und Anfluggeschwindigkeit zur Folge hat. Um der exorbitanten Motorleistung gerecht zu werden, müssen neben der gezielten Zufuhr von Ansaugluft auch Verstärkungen der Zelle und der Motoraufhängungen erfolgen, um den extremen Vibrationen und starken Temperaturunterschieden gerecht zu werden. Selbstverständlich gehen mit diesen Modifikationen umfassende Verschlechterungen der Flugeigenschaften einher, sodass „normale“ Piloten einen Reno-Unlimited-Racer als tendenziell unfliegbar einzustufen haben.

Ging man während des zweiten Weltkrieges noch hin und gab den Jägern mit auflackierten Haifisch-Mäulern ein besonders abschreckendes Aussehen, kann man bei den Reno-Unlimiteds getrost davon ausgehen, dass ein ausgewachsener Tigerhai beim bloßen Anblick eines solchen Monsters geneigt wäre, sich schlagartig zu empfehlen. Ebenfalls direkt aus der Hölle zu stammen, scheint der Klang eines Reno-Racers. Von einfachem Beben der Erde kann keine Rede mehr sein. Dieses Klanginferno macht unmittelbar abhängig, wenn man auch nur einen Tropfen Treibstoff im Blut hat.

Die Geschichte des Reno Air Race

Entstanden ist diese Spielart in den 20er und 30er Jahren, als die zumeist arbeitslosen Piloten des ersten Weltkrieges nach einer mehr oder weniger sinnvollen Beschäftigung suchten, um dem Publikum etwas Besonderes bieten und etwas Geld verdienen zu können. Diesen historischen Reiz des Luftrennens hat sich die Veranstaltung seitdem bewahrt. Trotz der rund 200.000 Zuschauer an den vier Tagen des Air Race bleibt die Atmosphäre familiär. Besichtigungen der Racer aus nächster Nähe sind ebenso möglich, wie Gespräche mit Crewmitgliedern. In den „Pits“ herrscht stets hektische Betriebsamkeit, da die hochgezüchteten Warbirds als extrem wartungsintensiv gelten.

Ihr fragt euch immer noch, was das mit gesundem Irrsinn zu tun hat? Die Belastungen für Mensch und Material sind konsequent maximal ausgelegt – und am Limit angekommen. Mit anderen Worten: was sich so mancher Pilot (wie zum Beispiel ich) so ziemlich am meisten wünschen würde (nämlich so ein Monster zu fliegen) ist vermutlich gar keine so gute Idee. Weil neben der radikalisierten Aerodynamik auch die hochgezüchtete Technik empfindlich und nicht so standfest ist, wie man sich das so wünscht. (Aber dieser Klang …)

Horrorszenario Motorausfall

Sollte ein Motor ausfallen, zum Beispiel weil der hochexplosive Spezialtreibstoff mal wieder diverse Kolbenringe pulverisiert hat, oder beim „fatal engine failure“ Teile der Kurbelwelle den Weg durch die „cowling“ genannte Motorverkleidung nach draußen suchen … Nun ja, „Plan B“: Schnell die Geschwindigkeit in Höhe umsetzen, ohne mit der Konkurrenz zu kollidieren, das Feuerlöschsystem – sofern vorhanden – aktivieren, schnell noch die Dauer einiger Einspritz-Sequenzen reinsten Adrenalins nutzen, um das Fahrwerk per Handkurbel auszufahren, da die Hydraulik vermutlich ausgefallen ist und natürlich hoffen, dass kein Ölfilm die Sicht nach vorne behindert. Dann suchst du für dein aerodynamisch bedenkliches, 80 Jahre altes Projektil ohne Sicherheitsreserven, das nicht mehr funktioniert noch schnell ein feines Landeplätzchen in der Wüste und mit etwas Glück bist du im nächsten Jahr wieder dabei, wenn es beim Reno Air Race heißt:  “Open the pitlane for the unlimited class.“

Mehr über verschiedenste Air Races erfahrt ihr bei uns auf WingMag. Wie wäre es zum Beispiel mit unserem Bericht über die Red Bull Air Race Weltmeisterschaft in Dubai 2018?

von Arnold Fischer

Related Posts