Silent Air Taxi - Urban Air Mobility

Silent Air Taxi – Urban Air Mobility made in Germany

Jennifer Weitbrecht
14.06.2019
8 pictures
8 minutes

It is peaceful here at the Aachen-Merzbrück Airfield – and quiet, just like the “unidentified flying object” which was revealed at a press event in the middle of the countryside on 11th June. We at WingMag checked out the unveiling of the futuristic light aircraft model for you. Germany is travelling towards the future, using modern and sustainable mobility strategies …

Introducing the Silent Air Taxi

The introductory words spoken by Armin Laschet, Minister-President of North Rhine-Westphalia, revealed a lot about the hopes which have already been placed in the Silent Air Taxi project:

Environmentally friendly and affordable air taxis can make a significant contribution to mobility in areas of high population density. The Silent Air Taxi, a quiet and low-emission hybrid light aircraft, is the latest innovation in the area of alternative and climate-friendly mobility solutions, made in North Rhine-Westphalia. It never fails to amaze me how parties from the fields of science and economics work hand-in-hand here at the Aachen research facility to turn futuristic visions into concrete technologies for sustainable mobility strategies which are suitable for daily use. This is how scientific excellence is translated into industrial production.

Armin Laschet, Minister-President of North Rhine-Westphalia

The Aachen-Merzbrück Research Airfield, Aachen itself, the research partners and the Silent Air Taxi were introduced in multiple panel discussions. Then the drum roll … The unveiling of the Silent Air Taxi, currently only at a scale of 1:5. But hopefully soon a full-sized reality.

Futuristic light aircraft for regional air traffic mobility

Congested streets, noisy engines, smelly exhausts and regular particulate alarms – this is how it is in lots of urban areas, including those in Germany. Not exactly what we want for the future. Alongside easing the traffic situation and relieving the main modes of transport, noise reduction and reducing emissions are issues which we can no longer overlook. The Silent Air Taxi addresses all of these topics.

Except the Silent Air Taxi’s advantages also go even further. Individual travel times can be significantly reduced and daily routines can be more flexibly organised. A taxi service would represent a turning point for business travellers in particular. Journeys which used to take an entire day by bus and train could be completed in much shorter times. This means that fewer productive hours “fall by the wayside” …

According to Professor Peter Jeschke, professor at RWTH Aachen University and one of the CEOs of e.SAT GmbH, more than 80 percent of the population live fewer than 25 kilometres away from small airports and airfields. Their proximity to international airports, however, is considerably lower. This provides a market for offering flights between small airports. The Silent Air Taxi aims to cover this demand.

Our understanding of innovative air mobility is consistently geared towards customer requirements such as shorter travel times, punctuality and flexibility regarding individual requirements.

e.SAT GmbH CEOs, Prof. Peter Jeschke and Prof. Frank Janser

What can the innovative air taxi do? – The basic information

The amount of work and time which has gone into the small model aircraft is almost unimaginable. Four years of preparation, countless patent applications, multiple strategic partnerships and the founding of e.SAT GmbH. Here is some basic information about the Silent Air Taxi:

The Silent Air Taxi’s innovative technology

Imagine the unbelievable noise level if normal helicopters were to undertake the air taxi’s job! At least a few of those living near airfields would surely soon lose their minds due to this additional strain, which would reignite the already heated debate on aircraft noise.

Attention would, therefore, be paid to creating as low a noise pollution level as possible when constructing the Silent Air Taxi (as the name reveals). Very fortunate when you think about the fact that thousands of these mini aircraft could be moving around in our airspace in as few as five to ten years.

The unique electric hybrid engine and the boxwing design, which provides optimum fluid mechanics, are amongst the Silent Air Taxi’s most important technological features.

Electric hybrid engine:

The Silent Air Taxi has an electric engine at its disposal, alongside a normal turbine. It is this which makes the particularly quiet operating volume possible. e.SAT Powertrain GmbH, a subsidiary of e.SAT GmbH, is an electric hybrid engine manufacturer. 

Boxwing concept for optimised fluid mechanics:

The special boxwing wing shape is one of the factors, alongside the innovative engine, which makes quiet flight possible. The newly developed air taxi is designed similarly to a kind of biplane which works using a wingspan of only ten metres.

What is next for the Silent Air Taxi project?

The Silent Air Taxi model was presented after around four years of intensive work. But when will it actually take to the skies?

The time until the first flight will certainly just fly by for the partner network!

Who is behind the Silent Air Taxi?

A trendsetting and complex project like the Silent Air Taxi cannot be developed single-handedly. This quickly became clear to all those participating. So it is no surprise that various participants from science and industry are involved. RWTH Aachen University, RWTH Aachen Campus, FH Aachen University of Applied Sciences and the newly founded e.SAT GmbH, as the electric hybrid aircraft manufacturer, are the lead participants. More than 50 experts are involved in development and engineering in Aachen.

I am impressed at how successful, structured and quick the project partners’ development of this project has been to date. Various different skills are required to develop a new flying object of this type and orchestrating the individual institutes and people has been very successful.

Dr. Tim Grüttemeier, Aachen Städteregionsrat [Regional President]

The Fraunhofer IPT (Institute for Production Technology) is also involved in developing engine components as a non-university affiliated research facility. More information about the collaboration with the Fraunhofer IPT, as well as the future of electric hybrid engines and of fuel cells as energy converters in aircraft, will soon be available in an interview with Dr. Ing. Christoph Baum, director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT. 

The industrial partners

Alongside academics, several established large companies from the German aviation industry are involved. This includes MTU Aero Engines AG:

For MTU Aero Engines, the Silent Air Taxi is a bold and powerful concept for the future which has very high chances of becoming a reality. We are therefore participating in it, not only with regards to content as a technology partner, but also in e.SAT Powertrain GmbH.

Lars Wagner, Chief Operating Officer, MTU Aero Engines

What does the project mean for North Rhine-Westphalia?

The Silent Air Taxi project provides an opportunity to regions such as North Rhine-Westphalia, which is economically still strongly dependent on dying industries such as brown coal mining. Employment opportunities which have disappeared due to the energy transition could be created in innovative areas such as air traffic mobility. No wonder that the Silent Air Taxi is being sponsored by the Federal State.

Hendrik Wüst, North Rhine-Westphalia’s Transport Minister, also stressed the possibilities which it opens up for the Federal State:

Projects such as the Silent Air Taxi and expanding the Aachen-Merzbrück Airfield to turn it into a research airfield show that we North Rhine-Westphalians have what it takes to participate in developing innovative technologies. We are supporting the expansion here in Merzbrück so that research into aircraft with electric engines and possibilities for low-noise flight can move forward. In a densely populated and congested state like North Rhine-Westphalia, it is right to also think of airspace as being the third dimension in terms of mobility. We want the mobility strategies of the future to be researched and developed, and ideally also produced and implemented, in North Rhine-Westphalia. We are, therefore, also making a contribution to develop the Rhinish mining area and are able to give the region’s people a new outlook.

Hendrik Wüst, Transport Minister for North Rhine-Westphalia

The Aachen area is proud of the project

Aachen is once again showcasing its innovative power and the very successful research and development at both universities. Through the Silent Air Taxi, we can uniquely demonstrate which pioneering projects can be developed right through to production when everyone pulls together and pursues the same goal.

Marcel Philipp, Lord Mayor of Aachen

With the development of the Silent Air Taxi project at the Aachen-Merzbrück research airfield, a new star has risen on the horizon for structural development in the Aachen metropolitan area.

Helmut Etschenberg, Former Städteregionsrat [Regional President]

Aachen-Merzbrück Research Airfield

More than 12.7 million Euros are due to be invested in further developing the Aachen-Merzbrück Research Airfield.

Additional reports on the Silent Air Taxi

The SAT unveiling created a lot of media interest and additional coverage can be found on WDR and n-tv, amongst other places. Perhaps you will spot the black hoodie featuring the WingMag logo amongst the photographers in the video 😉

Sounds like expensive fun?

Surprisingly not! A flight in the Silent Air Taxi should cost around the same as a 1st class train ticket … That sounds worth it!

by Jennifer Weitbrecht

Related Posts

Enthüllung Silent Air Taxi - e.SAT GmbH

Silent Air Taxi – Urban Air Mobility made in Germany

Jennifer Weitbrecht
14.06.2019
8 Fotos
8 Minuten

Friedlich ist es hier auf dem Flugplatz Aachen-Merzbrück – und ruhig, genau wie das „unbekannte Flugobjekt“ das am 11. Juni bei einem Presseevent mitten im Grünen vorgestellt wurde. Wir von WingMag waren für euch dabei, als das futuristische Modell des Kleinflugzeuges enthüllt wurde. Deutschland auf dem Weg in die Zukunft, mit moderner und nachhaltiger Mobilität …

Die Vorstellung des Silent Air Taxi

Die einführenden Worte von Armin Laschet, Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, verraten bereits viel über die Hoffnungen, die in das Projekt Silent Air Taxi gesteckt werden:

Umweltfreundliche und bezahlbare Flugtaxis können zur Mobilität in unseren Ballungszentren einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten. Das Silent Air Taxi, ein leises und emissionsarmes Hybrid-Kleinflugzeug, ist die nächste Innovation alternativer und klimaschonender Mobilitätslösungen ‚made in Nordrhein-Westfalen‘. Es ist immer wieder beeindruckend, wie hier am Forschungsstandort Aachen Akteure aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft Hand in Hand aus futuristischen Visionen konkrete, alltagstaugliche Technologien für eine nachhaltige Mobilität entwickeln. So wird wissenschaftliche Exzellenz in industrielle Produktion umgesetzt.

Armin Laschet, Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

In mehreren Talk-Runden wurde der Forschungsflugplatz Aachen-Merzbrück, der Standort Aachen, die Forschungspartner sowie das Silent Air Taxi vorgestellt. Dann der Trommelwirbel… Die Enthüllung des Silent Air Taxi, derzeit noch im Verhältnis 1: 5. Doch hoffentlich bald Realität.

Futuristisches Kleinflugzeug für die regionale Luftverkehrsmobilität

Verstopfte Straßen, lärmende Motoren, stinkende Abgase und regelmäßiger Feinstaubalarm – so sieht es derzeit in vielen Städten, auch in Deutschland, aus. Nicht gerade so, wie man sich die Zukunft wünscht. Neben einer Entspannung der Verkehrslage sowie einer Entlastung der Hauptverkehrsträger sind die Reduzierung von Lärm und Emissionen Themen, über die wir nicht mehr hinwegsehen können. An allen diesen Punkten setzt das Silent Air Taxi an.

Der Nutzen des Silent Air Taxi geht jedoch noch weiter. Individuelle Reisezeiten können signifikant eingeschränkt und Tagesabläufe flexibler gestaltet werden. Insbesondere für Business-Reisende würde ein Lufttaxi-Service die Wende bedeuten. Reisen, die vorher einen ganzen Tag mit Bus und Bahn in Anspruch genommen haben, könnten in kürzester Zeit absolviert werden. So bleibt weniger produktive Zeit „auf der Strecke“ …

Laut Professor Peter Jeschke, Professor der RWTH Aachen University und einer der CEOs der e.SAT GmbH, leben mehr als 80 Prozent der Bevölkerung weniger als 25 Kilometer entfernt von kleinen Flughäfen und -plätzen. Die Entfernung zu internationalen Flughäfen ist jedoch deutlich größer. Es biete sich daher an, Flüge zwischen kleinen Flughäfen zu ermöglichen. Dieser Bedarf solle mit dem Silent Air Taxi abgedeckt werden.

Unser Verständnis von innovativer Luftmobilität orientiert sich konsequent an den Bedürfnissen des Kunden. Das sind kürzere Reisezeiten, Pünktlichkeit und Flexibilität gegenüber den individuellen Bedürfnissen.

CEOs der e.SAT GmbH Prof. Peter Jeschke und Prof. Frank Janser

Was kann das innovative Flugtaxi? – Die Eckdaten

Kaum vorstellbar, wieviel Arbeit und Zeit hinter dem kleinen Modellflieger stecken: Vier Jahre Vorbereitungszeit, unzählige Patentanmeldungen, mehrere strategische Kooperationen sowie die Gründung der e.SAT GmbH. Hier einige Eckdaten rund um das Silent Air Taxi:

Die innovative Technologie des Silent Air Taxi

Stellt euch den unglaublichen Lärm vor, wenn reguläre Hubschrauber die Aufgabe von Lufttaxis übernehmen würden. Der ein oder andere Anwohner von Flugplätzen würde bei dieser zusätzlichen Belastung sicherlich bald „in die Luft gehen“, was die ohnehin bereits hitzige Debatte um Fluglärm weiter anheizen würde.

Bei der Konstruktion des Silent Air Taxi wurde daher ausdrücklich auf eine möglichst geringe Lärmbelastung geachtet (wie der Name schon verrät). Ein großes Glück, wenn man bedenkt, dass bereits in fünf bis zehn Jahren tausende dieser Mini-Flieger in unserem Luftraum unterwegs sein könnten.

Zu den wichtigsten Faktoren der Technologie des Silent Air Taxi gehören der einzigartige elektrohybride Antrieb sowie das strömungsmechanisch optimale Boxwingkonzept.

Elektrohybrider Antrieb:

Neben einer normalen Turbine verfügt das Silent Air Taxi über einen Elektromotor. Erst dadurch wird die besonders leise Betriebslautstärke ermöglicht. Die e.SAT Powertrain GmbH, ein Tochterunternehmen der e.SAT GmbH, ist Hersteller von elektrohybriden Antrieben.

Strömungsmechanisch optimales Boxwingkonzept:

Neben dem neuartigen Antrieb ist auch die besondere Boxwing-Flügelform ein Faktor, der leises Fliegen möglich macht. Das neu entwickelte Lufttaxi ist wie eine Art Doppeldecker konzipiert, der mit einer Spannweite von nur zehn Metern auskommt.

Wie geht es weiter mit dem Projekt Silent Air Taxi?

Nach rund vier Jahren intensiver Arbeit, wurde das Modell des Silent Air Taxi vorgestellt. Doch wann geht es wirklich in die Luft?

Für das Partnernetzwerk wird die Zeit bis zum Erstflug sicher wie im Flug vergehen.

Wer steckt hinter dem Silent Air Taxi?

Ein zukunftsweisendes und komplexes Projekt wie das Silent Air Taxi kann nicht im Alleingang entwickelt werden. Das war allen Beteiligten schnell klar. So ist es keine Überraschung, dass verschiedene Akteure aus Wissenschaft und Industrie daran beteiligt sind. Federführend sind die RWTH Aachen University, der RWTH Aachen Campus, die FH Aachen sowie die neu gegründete e.Sat GmbH als Hersteller von elektrohybriden Flugzeugen. Mehr als 50 Experten entwickeln und bauen am Standort Aachen.

Ich bin beeindruckt, wie erfolgreich, strukturiert und schnell die Projektpartner dieses Projekt bis hierhin entwickelt haben. Viele unterschiedliche Kompetenzen werden benötigt, um ein derart neues Flugobjekt zu entwickeln und die Orchestrierung der einzelnen Institute und Personen hat hier sehr gut funktioniert.

Dr. Tim Grüttemeier, Städteregionsrat

Als außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtung ist auch das Fraunhofer IPT an der Entwicklung von Triebwerkskomponenten beteiligt. Mehr über die Zusammenarbeit mit Fraunhofer IPT sowie die Zukunft elektrohybrider Antriebe und der Brennstoffzelle als Energiewandler im Flugzeug erfahrt ihr in Kürze in einem Interview mit Dr.-Ing. Christoph Baum, Geschäftsführer des Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT.

Die Industriepartner

Neben der Wissenschaft sind mehrere etablierte Großunternehmen der deutschen Luftfahrtbranche beteiligt. Dazu gehört auch die MTU Aero Engines AG:

Für die MTU Aero Engines ist das Silent Air Taxi ein mutiges und überzeugendes Zukunftskonzept, das sehr hohe Realisierungschancen hat. Deshalb beteiligen wir uns daran nicht nur inhaltlich als Technologiepartner sondern auch an der e.SAT Powertrain GmbH.

Lars Wagner, Vorstand Technik, MTU Aero Engines

Was bedeutet das Projekt für NRW?

Für eine Region wie Nordrhein-Westfalen, die wirtschaftlich nach wie vor stark abhängig von aussterbenden Industrien wie dem Abbau von Braunkohle ist, stellt das Projekt Silent Air Taxi eine große Chance dar. Durch die Energiewende wegfallende Arbeitsplätze könnten in innovativen Bereichen wie der Luftverkehrsmobilität neu geschaffen werden. Nicht verwunderlich, dass das Silent Air Taxi vom Bundesland gefördert wird.

Auch Hendrik Wüst, NRW-Verkehrsminister, betonte, welche Möglichkeiten sich für das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen eröffnen:

Projekte wie das Silent Air Taxi und der Ausbau des Flugplatzes Aachen-Merzbrück zum Forschungsflughafen zeigen, dass wir in Nordrhein-Westfalen gute Voraussetzungen haben, bei der Entwicklung innovativer Technologien vorne dabei zu sein. Wir unterstützen den Ausbau hier in Merzbrück, damit die Forschungen an Flugzeugen mit elektrischem Antrieb und an den Möglichkeiten des geräuscharmen Fliegens vorankommen. In einem bevölkerungsstarken und verkehrsreichen Land wie Nordrhein-Westfalen ist es richtig, mit dem Luftraum die dritte Dimension der Mobilität mitzudenken. Wir wollen, dass die Mobilität der Zukunft in Nordrhein-Westfalen erforscht und entwickelt und am besten auch produziert und eingesetzt wird. So leisten wir auch einen Beitrag für die Entwicklung des Rheinischen Reviers und können den Menschen in der Region eine neue Perspektive geben

Hendrik Wüst, NRW-Verkehrsminister

Die Region Aachen ist stolz auf das Projekt

Aachen demonstriert wieder einmal seine Innovationskraft und sehr erfolgreiche Forschung und Entwicklung an den beiden Hochschulen. Mit dem Silent Air Taxi zeigen wir hier einmalig, welche wegweisenden Projekte bis zur Serienreife entwickelt werden können, wenn alle an einem Strang ziehen und dasselbe Ziel verfolgen.

Marcel Philipp, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Aachen

Mit der Entwicklung des Projektes Silent Air Taxi am Forschungsflugplatz Aachen-Merzbrück geht ein neuer Stern am Horizont der Strukturentwicklung in der StädteRegion Aachen auf.

Helmut Etschenberg, Ehemaliger Städteregionsrat

Forschungsflugplatz Aachen-Merzbrück

Mehr als 12,7 Mio. Euro sollen in die Weiterentwicklung des Forschungsflugplatzes Aachen-Merzbrück gesteckt werden:

Weitere Berichterstattung zum Silent Air Taxi

Die Enthüllung des SAT war von großem medialen Interesse: Weitere Berichte findet ihr unter anderem beim WDR und bei n-tv. Vielleicht entdeckt ihr im Video ja den schwarzen Hoodie mit WingMag-Logo unter den Fotografen 😉

Klingt nach einem teuren Vergnügen?

Überraschenderweise nicht! Ein Flug mit dem Silent Air Taxi soll in etwa so viel kosten wie ein 1. Klasse Bahnticket … Das lohnt sich!

von Jennifer Weitbrecht

Related Posts